MY WORLD

Round 1 complete

On another day with the usual winds at Banyan, I posted a 4-over 76 for my first round and kept myself in the hunt. Nothing spectacular today except a couple short game errors that cost me a few strokes. The highlights of the day would be a chip-in birdie on 10 and hitting driver into a par 3. YES! That is correct. From the back tees today, the 17th hole measured a lovely 242 yards…UPHILL…INTO A GUST. I have never been known as a long hitter but even my playing partners were leaving their 3 wood shots well short of the green. Something about using a driver on a par 3 should be illegal! Or better yet, having a par 3 of that length should be questioned vigorously. Oh, just for the record, I hit it to 20 feet.

The best moment of the day may have been while I was strolling to the first tee to begin my round. A feeling came over me that had been absent for awhile. Maybe it was the time off or maybe it was simply the situation. Either way, my nerves were sending hyperactive signals all through my body as I prepared to do battle with the course. This time, however, I was in control. And with all that adrenaline in me, I remembered why I love doing this so much. It made me feel alive again.

One response

  1. Anonymous

    Keep it up! Good luck!!

    January 11, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Leave a comment